p4k 46: Tobias Jesso Jr. – Goon

Had I ever heard of them before: nope.

Reductive First Impression:  Sucky Singer Songwriter. I listened to the first track and thought “hey this could be a really good tune…”, then I realise it sounds like Rocketman with shit lyrics and without the good bits. This manages to sound both like MacCartney and Lennon, but the shitty solo versions not the good Beatles ones. Also kind of like if Randy Newman sucked. I want to listen to Elliott Smith, he was really good.

It’s so tepid, uninspiring and bland. I think i would be angry being a room with someone who liked this.

Will I listen to it again:  Please Pitchy, make the rest of the albums better than this.

Leave a Reply

