p4k no 10: Kamasi Washington – The Epic

Had I ever heard of them before: Yes, friend is a big fan and he’s on To Pimp A Butterfly.

Reductive First Impression: Honestly, when I first heard this, my reaction was: errrrrgggg modern jazz. It’s been done. Plus this is smooth – really big band – has vibes and when there’s singing, it sucks. But by “side 2” (disc 2? – sides become super irrevelant when streaming) I was into it. I liked the takes on “classics”. I enjoyed the playing. Will I liek ti all? I dunno.

But when I first started I disliked it so intensely it almost scuppered the project.

Will I listen to it again: Yes, whilst I read Ursula Le Guin and sulk.

 

Leave a Reply

