p4k no 6: Sufjan Stevens – Carrie & Lowell

Had I ever heard of them before: yes, saw him in a  sit down folk club in Nottingham back in ’04… blah blah blah

Reductive First Impression: When this first came out I was unimpressed. I didn’t know why. It ticked all my boxes.

Sparse (tickerdee)

Deeply personal (tix)

Relatively lofi (tickets)

Sufjan Stevens (tickles)

but left me a bit “meh”. Better than Age of Adz, I thought, “but why’s everyone going crazy over it?”. I gave it 6 months. Fuck me it’s good. Heartbreaking, beautiful, full of killer lines. Best album of 15.

Will I listen to it again: sure.

 

Leave a Reply

